1. Roll call.

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, John Bjerke, Weston Mack, Roger Hatlem, Gail Frie, Jeff Clifton and Terry Noble present. Alderpersons Gary Krause and Marc Polsean were absent. Also present were Attorney David Jenkins, Administrator Jeff Gohlke, Assistant Administrator Matt Giese, Clerk John Severson and Police Chief Mark Rahr.

2. Adjournment sine die.

Motion made by Alderperson Mack to adjourn sine die, seconded by Alderperson Frie. All voted aye. Motion carries.

OATH OF OFFICE FOR NEWLY ELECTED OFFICERS

Clerk John Severson administered the oath of office to re-elected Mayor Larry Fanta and to reelected Alderpersons Roger Hatlem and Jeff Clifton.

1. Roll call.

The special meeting was called to order by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, John Bjerke, Weston Mack, Roger Hatlem, Gail Frie, Jeff Clifton and Terry Noble present. Alderpersons Marc Polsean and Gary Krause were absent. Also present were Attorney David Jenkins, Administrator Jeff Gohlke, Assistant Administrator Matt Giese, City Clerk John Severson and Police Chief Mark Rahr.

2. Election of Council president.

Motion made by Alderperson Mack to nominate Roger Hatlem as Council President, seconded by Alderperson Noble. Motion made by Alderperson Noble to close nominations, seconded by Alderperson Tryggestad. All voted aye. Motion carries.

3. Council rules.

Motion made by Alderperson Hatlem to adopt the rules of the previous Council, seconded by Alderperson Frie. All voted aye. Motion carries.

4. Designation of official city newspaper.

Motion made by Alderperson Frie to designate the Vernon County Broadcaster as the official newspaper, seconded by Alderperson Tryggestad. All voted aye. Motion carries.

5. Designation of depositories for City funds.

Motion made by Alderperson Hatlem to name the Anchor Bank, Associated Bank, State Bank of Viroqua, Citizens First Bank, Westby Co-Op Credit Union – Viroqua Branch, and the Local Government Investment Fund as designated depositories for City funds, seconded by Alderperson Tryggestad. All voted aye. Motion carries.

6. Mayor's appointments to Council committees.

Tabled until the April 29, 2008 regular meeting.

7. Period for public comment.

No public comment.

8. Adjournment.

Motion made by Alderperson Tryggestad to adjourn the Council meeting, seconded by Alderperson Frie. All voted aye. Motion carries.

John Severson Clerk