CITY OF VIROQUA COUNCIL MINUTES APRIL 26, 2011

1. Roll call:

The regular meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Charles Steinhoff, Gary Krause, Weston Mack, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson and Jeff Clifton and Terry Noble present. Alderperson Marc Polsean was absent Also present were Administrator Matt Giese, Clerk John Severson, Police Chief Mark Rahr, Assistant Police Chief Daron Jefson, City Attorney David Jenkins, Emily Rozeske, David Peterson, Peter Fletcher and Bill Meeks.

2. Approval of the April 12, 2011 Regular Council Minutes

Motion by Alderperson Steinhoff to approve the April 12, 2011 Council minutes. Seconded by Alderperson Hubbard. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

3. First period for public comment

Mayor Fanta announced the Police Commission has promoted Daron Jefson to the position of Police Chief for the City of Viroqua.

4. Election of Council President

Motion by Alderperson Steinhoff to nominate Terry Noble as Council President. Seconded by Alderperson Tryggested. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

5. Council rules

Motion by Alderperson Noble to approve Council rules previously in effect. Seconded by Alderperson Steinhoff. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

6. Designation of official City newspaper

Motion by Alderperson Noble to designate the Vernon County Broadcaster as the official newspaper. Seconded by Alderperson Thompson. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

7. Designation of depositories for City funds

Motion by Alderperson Tryggestad to designate Anchor Bank, Viroqua Bank, Citizens Bank, Westby Co-op Credit Union, Viroqua Branch, Local Government Investment Fund and First National Bank of Bangor as official depositories. Seconded by Alderperson Mack. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

8. Mayor's appointment to Council Committees

Motion by Alderperson Mack to approve the Mayor's appointments to Council Committees as follows:

Finance and Personnel – Gary Krause Chairperson, Weston Mack, Terry Noble, John Thompson, Jeff Clifton Public Works – Marc Polsean Chairperson, Weston Mack, John Thompson, Gary Krause, Charles Steinhoff Public Safety – Weston Mack Chairperson, Charles Steinhoff, Jeff Clifton, David Tryggestad, Marc Polsean Public Property – David Tryggestad Chairperson, Cyndy Hubbard, Gary Krause, Marc Polsean, Charles Steinhoff Parks and Recreation – John Thompson Chairperson, Weston Mack, Terry Noble, Cyndy Hubbard, Gary Krause

Seconded by Alderperson Clifton. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

9. Safe Routes to Schools Grant and Commuter Bus updates.

Peter Fletcher reported that possible funding for the proposed commuter bus has been frozen by the Department of Transportation pended State budget decisions. The Safe Routes to Schools program is in the planning stage with 25 representatives from the Westby and Viroqua communities participating. Mr. Fletcher hopes to complete the planning process by fall with implementation applications due in the first part of 2012.

10. Picnic license – St. Mary's Catholic Church

Motion by Alderperson Krause to grant Picnic licenses to St Mary's for June 19, 2011 at Eckhardt Park as recommended by Public Safety. Seconded by Alderperson Hubbard. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries

11. Operator licenses

Motion by Alderperson Mack to grant operator licenses to Hannah Johnson, Trudy Eide, Ashontae Lantro and Lucas Nordin as approved by Public Safety. Seconded by Alderperson Tryggestad. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

12. Ordinance regarding public work by City – first reading

Motion by Alderperson Steinhoff to approve the first reading of Ordinance No. 11OR002 allowing the City to do specific classes of public work without submitting the same for bids. Seconded by Alderperson Clifton. The Council discussed the proposed ordinance and classes of work involved. On voice vote all voted aye. Motion carries.

13. Amendment of contract with Southwest Sanitation for commingling of recyclables

Matt Giese reported that Public Works has agreed in principle to allow commingling of recyclables. City staff has met with Southwest Sanitation to work out the details. Residential recycling charge will be reduced from \$1.65 per month to \$1.05 resulting in a \$15,000 savings per year and monthly commercial recycling charges in total will be reduced from \$1,700 to \$1,300 resulting in a savings of \$5,000 per year. The Council discussed the contract changes. Motion by Alderperson Thompson to approve the amendment as presented. Seconded by Alderperson Steinhoff. All voted aye on roll call vote. Motion carries.

14. Discussion regarding room tax

The proposed moratorium on room tax for the remainder of 2011 was discussed by the Council. Motion by Alderperson Hubbard to continue the 3% room tax. Seconded by Alderperson Noble. On voice vote Alderpersons Steinhoff, Krause, Mack, Hubbard, Thompson, Clifton, Noble and Polsean voted aye. Alderperson Tryggestad voted nay. Motion carries.

15. Arbor Day Proclamation

Mayor Fanta presented his Arbor Day Proclamation to the Council

16. Payment of bills

Motion by Alderperson Krause to approve payment of bills as presented on payment reports dated April 21, 2011 and April 26, 2011 in the amounts of \$61,317.25 and \$24,474.08. Seconded by Alderperson Mack. All voted aye on roll call vote. Motion carries.

17. Second period for public comment

None

18. Adjournment

Motion by Alderperson Steinhoff to adjourn the meeting until May 10, 2011. Seconded by Alderperson Hubbard. All voted aye on voice vote. Motion carries.

John Severson, Clerk