CITY OF VIROQUA COUNCIL MINUTES November 8, 2011

1. Roll call:

The regular meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Marc Polsean, Chuck Steinhoff, Gary Krause, Wes Mack, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson, and Jeff Clifton present. Absent was Alderperson Noble. Also present were City Administrator John Severson, Deputy Clerk Jodie Oliver, Police Chief Daron Jefson and Broadcaster reporter Jennifer Wieman.

2. Approval of the October 25, 2011 Regular Council Minutes and November 1, 2011 Special Council Minutes.

Motion by Alderperson Steinhoff to approve the minutes of the October 25, 2011 regular council meeting and the November 1, 2011 special council meeting. Seconded by Alderperson Hubbard. All voted aye on a voice vote, motion carries.

3. First period for public comment.

Mike Callan, President of the Vernon County Historical Society made a request that the city make a \$5000 donation to the Vernon County Historical Society.

4. Designation of Viroqua Historic Landmark at 300 South Rock Avenue – Rocklewitz Apartments (Historic Preservation Commission).

Alderperson Hubbard stated that Keith Rocklewitz had found that the apartments were built in 1866 and they were the original Church of Christ building. The commission had a public hearing on September 13th, 2011. A motion was made by Alderperson Krause to designate 300 South Rock as a Viroqua Historic Landmark. Alderperson Mack seconded the motion. All voted aye on a voice vote, motion carries.

5. Appointment of Chris Cox to the Library Board to fill the remaining term of Bill Brooke. (Library Board)

Chris Cox's term would run through April 30th, 2013. A motion was made by Alderperson Krause and seconded by Alderperson Hubbard to approve the appointment of Chris Cox to the Library Board. All voted aye on a voice vote, motion carries.

6. Payment of bills.

A motion was made by Alderperson Krause to approve the payment of bills in the amount of \$653,738.91. Alderperson Thompson seconded. A roll call vote was taken with Alderpersons Tryggestad, Polsean, Steinhoff, Krause, Mack, Hubbard, Thompson, and Clifton voting aye. Alderperson Noble was absent. Motion carries.

7 Second Period for Public Comment.

None

8. Adjournment

Motion made by Alderperson Thompson to adjourn the meeting until November 29th, 2011. Seconded by Alderperson Hubbard. All voted aye on a voice vote, motion carries.