CITY OF VIROQUA SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES April 16, 2013

Roll call:

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 6:30 p.m. on April 16, 2013 by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons Steve Bekkedal, Marc Polsean, Jeff Clifton, Gary Krause, Mark Rahr, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson, and Terry Noble present. Alderperson Tom Wilson was absent. Also present were City Administrator John Severson, City Clerk Lori Polhamus, Police Chief Daron Jefson, Public Works Director Steve Clark, and City Attorney David Jenkins.

Adjournment sine die

Motion by Alderperson Polsean/second by Alderperson Noble to adjourn sine die. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officers – Clerk Polhamus administered the Oath of Office to Alderpersons Bekkedal, Noble, Rahr and Thompson for the 2013-2015 term. Alderperson Wilson signed the Oath of Office earlier.

Election of Council President - Motion by Alderperson Krause to nominate Alderperson Terry Noble for Council President/second by Alderperson Hubbard. There were no other nominations. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Council Rules – a set of rules was handed out to the Council with no changes since April 2012. Motion by Alderperson Thompson/second by Alderperson Rahr to approve the Council Rules. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of official City newspaper – Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Krause to approve the Vernon County Broadcaster as the official City newspaper. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of depositories for City funds – Motion by Alderperson Polsean/second by Alderperson Krause to approve the following depositories for City funds: Anchor Bank, Viroqua Bank, Citizens Bank, Associated Bank, Westby Coop Credit Union – Viroqua Branch, Local Government Investment Fund, and First National Bank of Bangor. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Mayor's appointments to Council Committees - Motion by Alderperson Clifton/second by Alderperson Noble to approve the Mayor's appointments to Council committees as follows:

Finance and Personnel – Gary Krause Chairperson, Cyndy Hubbard, Terry Noble, John Thompson, Jeff Clifton Public Works – Marc Polsean Chairperson, Steve Bekkedal, Jeff Clifton, John Thompson, Gary Krause Public Safety – Jeff Clifton Chairperson, Mark Rahr, Marc Polsean, Steve Bekkedal, Tom Wilson Public Property – Mark Rahr Chairperson, Gary Krause, Marc Polsean, Steve Bekkedal, Tom Wilson Park and Recreation – John Thompson Chairperson, Mark Rahr, Terry Noble, Cyndy Hubbard, Gary Krause

Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Period for Public Comment - none

Adjournment -

Motion made by Alderperson Polsean/second by Alderperson Rahr to adjourn the meeting at 6:40 p.m. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by: Lori Polhamus, City Clerk