#### **APRIL 21, 2009**

#### 1. Roll call.

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Marc Polsean John Bjerke, Weston Mack, Roger Hatlem, Gail Frie, Jeff Clifton and Terry Noble present. Alderperson Gary Krause was absent. Also present were Attorney David Jenkins, Administrator Jeff Gohlke, Assistant Administrator Matt Giese, Clerk John Severson, Police Chief Mark Rahr, John Thompson and Charles Steinhoff.

Mayor Fanta presented outgoing Alderpersons Gail Frie and John Bjerke with plaques in appreciation of their years of service to the City of Viroqua.

## 2. Adjournment sine die.

Motion made by Alderperson Bjerke to adjourn sine die, seconded by Alderperson Frie. All voted aye. Motion carries.

### OATH OF OFFICE FOR NEWLY ELECTED OFFICERS

Clerk John Severson administered the oath of office to elected Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Charles Steinhoff, Weston Mack, John Thompson and Terry Noble.

#### 1. Roll call.

The special meeting was called to order by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Marc Polsean, Charles Steinhoff, Weston Mack, Roger Hatlem, John Thompson, Jeff Clifton and Terry Noble present. AlderpersonGary Krause was absent. Also present were Attorney David Jenkins, Administrator Jeff Gohlke, Assistant Administrator Matt Giese, City Clerk John Severson and Police Chief Mark Rahr.

### 2. Election of Council president.

Motion made by Alderperson Noble to nominate Roger Hatlem as Council President. Seconded by Alderperson Mack. All voted aye. Motion carries.

### 3. Council rules.

Motion made by Alderperson Noble to adopt the rules of the previous Council. Seconded by Alderperson Hatlem. All voted aye. Motion carries.

#### 4. Designation of official city newspaper.

Motion made by Alderperson Hatlem to designate the Vernon County Broadcaster as the official newspaper, seconded by Alderperson Tryggestad. All voted aye. Motion carries.

#### 5. Designation of depositories for City funds.

Motion made by Alderperson Mack to name the Anchor Bank, Associated Bank, Viroqua Bank, Citizens First Bank, Westby Co-Op Credit Union – Viroqua Branch, and the Local Government Investment Fund as designated depositories for City funds. Seconded by Alderperson Polsean. All voted aye. Motion carries.

### 6. Mayor's appointments to Council committees.

Motion by Alderperson Hatlem to approve the Mayor's appointments to Council committees as follows:

**Finance/Personnel** – Gary Krause Chairperson, Weston Mack, Terry Noble, John Thompson, Jeff Clifton

**Public Works** – Marc Polsean Chairperson, Weston Mack, David Tryggestad, John Thompson, Roger Hatlem

**Public Safety** – Weston Mack Chairperson, Charles Steinhoff, Roger Hatlem, David Tryggestad, Marc Polsean

**Public Property** – David Tryggestad Chairperson, Roger Hatlem, Gary Krause, Marc Polsean, Charles Steinhoff

**Parks & Recreation** – Roger Hatlem Chairperson, John Thompson, Terry Noble, Jeff Clifton, Gary Krause

Seconded by Alderperson Tryggestad. All voted aye. Motion carries.

# 7. Period for public comment.

No public comment.

### 8. Adjournment.

Motion made by Alderperson Polsean to adjourn the special meeting of the Council. Seconded by Alderperson Tryggestad. All voted aye. Motion carries.

John Severson Clerk