CITY OF VIROQUA SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES August 5, 2014

1. Roll call:

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 6:00 p.m. at the Viroqua High School Commons on Tuesday, August 5, 2014 by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons Steve Bekkedal, Marc Polsean, Mark Rahr, Terry Noble, Jeff Clifton, Cyndy Hubbard, Tom Wilson, Mike Bankes and John Thompson present. Also present were City Administrator John Severson, City Clerk Lori Polhamus, Police Chief Daron Jefson, Fire Chief Steve Skrede, Attorney David Jenkins, Park & Rec Director Dan Stalsberg, Public Works Director Steve Clark, Officer Jeff Walbrun as well as several members of the public.

2. Public comment procedures – the Mayor stated that there is a sign-up sheet to request to speak in which each person will be given two minutes. The Council will not answer questions; rather gather information as a listening session.

3. City report on boulevard flower gardens and enforcement. Chapter 12.12 of Viroqua Municipal Code. Police Chief Jefson gave an overview of the history of the boulevard ordinance as well as the enforcement actions taken in 2013 and 2014 since the ordinance has been in existence. There were 44 violations throughout the City this year and all but seven came into compliance with the ordinance. After making efforts to help the residents come into compliance they were given a final notice to comply and on July 28th the City workers brought the seven boulevards into compliance.

4. Public Comment – the following residents addressed the Council and public present: Anne O'Connor, Sarah Caldwell, KJ Jakobson, Arwyn Wildhack, Alan Hagen, Judy Clark, David Romary, Lamont McPheron, Jeff Lizan, Phil Dearborn, Charlotte Kirking, Angie Leis, Lynn Ekum, Ed Nix, Lila Cina, David Whited-Ford, Stephen Walker, Kim Chotzen, Todd Budnik, Vicki Ramsay (read by Arwyn Wildhack), Theresa Cary, Kathy O'Rourke, and Paul Grenier.

5. Adjournment -

Motion made by Alderperson Bekkedal/second by Alderperson Bankes to adjourn the meeting at 7:13 p.m. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by: Lori Polhamus, City Clerk