CITY OF VIROQUA SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES April 21, 2015

Roll call:

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 6:30 p.m. on April 21, 2015 by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons Steve Bekkedal, Marc Polsean, Jeff Clifton, Mike Bankes, Mark Rahr, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson, Tom Wilson and Terry Noble present. Also present were City Administrator John Severson, City Clerk Lori Polhamus, Police Chief Daron Jefson, City Attorney David Jenkins, Fire Chief Steve Skrede, Park & Rec Director Dan Stalsberg, John Montemurno, Todd Sanwick, Mike Koppa and Nathan Randall.

Before adjournment Mayor Fanta recognized Alderpersons John Thompson, Mark Rahr and Tom Wilson for their years of service to the City of Viroqua. Alderperson Thompson thanked everyone on the Council. Alderperson Wilson expressed concern that the previous Council minutes were not approved prior to adjournment.

Adjournment sine die

Motion by Alderperson Rahr/second by Alderperson Polsean to adjourn sine die. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officers – Clerk Polhamus administered the Oath of Office to Alderpersons Bekkedal, Noble, Koppa, Montemurno, and Sanwick for the 2015-2017 term.

Election of Council President - Motion by Alderperson Polsean to nominate Alderperson Terry Noble for Council President/second by Alderperson Bankes. There were no other nominations. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Council Rules – a set of rules was reviewed by Council with no changes since April 2012. Motion by Alderperson Bekkedal/second by Alderperson Noble to approve the Council Rules. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of official City newspaper – Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Bankes to approve the Vernon County Broadcaster as the official City newspaper. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of depositories for City funds – Motion by Alderperson Hubbard/second by Alderperson Polsean to approve the following depositories for City funds: Anchor Bank, Royal Bank, Peoples State Bank, Citizens First Bank, Associated Bank, Westby Coop Credit Union – Viroqua Branch and the Local Government Investment Fund. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Mayor's appointments to Council Committees - Motion by Alderperson Polsean/second by Alderperson Bekkedal to approve the Mayor's appointments to Council committees as follows:

Finance and Personnel – Steve Bekkedal Chairperson, Cyndy Hubbard, Terry Noble, Mike Bankes, Jeff Clifton Public Works – Marc Polsean Chairperson, Steve Bekkedal, Jeff Clifton, Mike Koppa, Todd Sanwick Public Safety – Jeff Clifton Chairperson, Todd Sanwick, Marc Polsean, Steve Bekkedal, John Montemurno Public Property – Mike Bankes Chairperson, Terry Noble, Marc Polsean, Cyndy Hubbard, John Montemurno Park and Recreation – Terry Noble Chairperson, Mike Koppa, Mike Bankes, Cyndy Hubbard, Marc Polsean Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Period for Public Comment – Tom Wilson thanked the Council and staff for the opportunity to work with everyone for the past two years.

Adjournment -

Motion made by Alderperson Bekkedal/second by Alderperson Clifton to adjourn the meeting at 6:45 p.m. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by: Lori Polhamus, City Clerk