# CITY OF VIROQUA SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES April 19, 2016

#### Roll call:

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 6:00 p.m. on April 19, 2016 by Mayor Larry Fanta with Alderpersons Steve Bekkedal, Mike Bankes, Cyndy Hubbard, Terry Noble, Mike Koppa, John Montemurno and Todd Sanwick present. Also present were City Administrator John Severson, City Clerk Lori Polhamus, Police Chief Daron Jefson, Engineer/DPW Sarah Grainger and Sondra Naxi.

## Adjournment sine die

Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Hubbard to adjourn sine die. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officers – Clerk Polhamus administered the Oath of Office to Mayor Larry Fanta and Alderpersons Mike Bankes, Cyndy Hubbard and Sondra Naxi for the 2016-2018 term. Alderperson Polsean was not present but signed the oath of office earlier.

**Election of Council President -** Motion by Alderperson Bankes to nominate Alderperson Terry Noble for Council President/second by Alderperson Koppa. There were no other nominations. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

**Council Rules** – a set of rules was reviewed by Council with no changes since April 2012. Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Sanwick to approve the Council Rules. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

**Designation of official City newspaper** – Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Montemurno to approve the Vernon County Broadcaster as the official City newspaper. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried. Alderperson Hubbard expressed concern that they do not come to many of the meetings and Severson will follow up with them.

**Designation of depositories for City funds** – Motion by Alderperson Bankes/second by Alderperson Hubbard to approve the following depositories for City funds: Royal Bank, Peoples State Bank, Citizens First Bank, Associated Bank, Westby Coop Credit Union – Viroqua Branch and the Local Government Investment Fund. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

**Mayor's appointments to Council Committees** - Motion by Alderperson Sanwick/second by Alderperson Montemurno to approve the Mayor's appointments to Council committees as follows:

Finance and Personnel – Steve Bekkedal Chairperson, Cyndy Hubbard, Terry Noble, Mike Bankes, Marc Polsean Public Works – Marc Polsean Chairperson, Steve Bekkedal, John Montemurno, Mike Koppa, Todd Sanwick Public Safety – Todd Sanwick Chairperson, Sondra Naxi, Marc Polsean, Steve Bekkedal, John Montemurno Public Property – Mike Bankes Chairperson, Terry Noble, Marc Polsean, Cyndy Hubbard, John Montemurno Park and Recreation – Terry Noble Chairperson, Mike Koppa, Mike Bankes, Cyndy Hubbard, Sondra Naxi Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

#### **Period for Public Comment** – none

## Adjournment -

Motion made by Alderperson Montemurno/second by Alderperson Bankes to adjourn the meeting at 6:14 p.m. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by: Lori Polhamus, City Clerk