CITY OF VIROQUA SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES APRIL 16, 2019

Roll call:

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at 6:00 p.m. on April 16, 2019 by Mayor Karen Mischel with Alderpersons Gregory Splinter, Terry Noble, Tanja Birke, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson and Sondra Naxi present. Alderpersons Steve Bekkedal, Mike Koppa and Jeff Gohlke were excused. Also present were members of staff.

Approval of April 9, 2019 Regular Council minutes – Motion by Alderperson Thompson/second by Alderperson Hubbard to approve the minutes from April 9, 2019. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Adjournment sine die

Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Birke to adjourn sine die. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officers – Clerk Polhamus administered the Oath of Office to Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Terry Noble, Mike Koppa and John Thompson for the 2019-2021 term. Administrator Nathan Torres was also given the Oath of office. Alderperson Jeff Gohlke will be given the oath at a later time.

Roll call – Mayor Mischel called roll call with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Gregory Splinter, Terry Noble, Tanja Birke, Mike Koppa, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson and Sondra Naxi present. Alderperson Jeff Gohlke was excused.

Election of Council President - Motion by Alderperson Birke to nominate Alderperson Terry Noble for Council President/second by Alderperson Splinter. There were no other nominations. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Council Rules – a set of rules was reviewed by Council with no changes since April 2017. Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Thompson to approve the current Council rules as presented. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of official City newspaper – Motion by Alderperson Naxi/second by Alderperson Noble to approve the Vernon County Broadcaster as the official City newspaper. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of depositories for City funds – Motion by Alderperson Thompson/second by Alderperson Hubbard to approve the following depositories for City funds: Royal Bank, Peoples State Bank, Citizens First Bank, Associated Bank, Westby Coop Credit Union – Viroqua Branch and the Local Government Investment Fund. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Mayor's appointments to Council Committees - The Mayor appointed the following committees: Finance – Tanja Birke-Chair, Cyndy Hubbard, Terry Noble, Jeff Gohlke, John Thompson Public Works – Gregory Splinter-Chair, Jeff Gohlke, John Thompson, Sondra Naxi, Tanja Birke Park & Rec – Terry Noble – Chair, Mike Koppa, John Thompson, Cyndy Hubbard, Sondra Naxi Public Property – Cyndy Hubbard – Chair, Terry Noble, David Tryggestad, Gregory Splinter, Mike Koppa Public Safety – Sondra Naxi – Chair, John Thompson, Mike Koppa, Gregory Splinter, Cyndy Hubbard

Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Koppa to approve the committees. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Period for Public Comment – none

Adjournment -

Motion made by Alderperson Birke/second by Alderperson Hubbard to adjourn the meeting at 6:08 p.m. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by: Lori Polhamus, City Clerk