CITY OF VIROQUA SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES APRIL 20, 2021

Roll call:

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order via zoom meeting #86890818388 at 6:00 p.m. on April 20, 2021 by Mayor Karen Mischel with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Gregory Splinter, Terry Noble, Tanja Birke, Mike Koppa, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson and Kristal Welter present. Alderperson Allison Sandbeck was absent. Also present were Trina Erickson, Lori Polhamus, Nate Torres, Sarah Grainger, Dan Stalsberg, Rick Niedfeldt, Randy Skinner and Tom Wilson

Approval of April 13, 2021 Regular Council minutes – Motion by Alderperson Noble/second by Alderperson Koppa to approve the minutes from April 13, 2021. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Adjournment sine die

Motion by Alderperson Welter/second by Alderperson Tryggestad to adjourn sine die. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officers – Clerk Polhamus administered the Oath of Office to Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Nathaniel Slack, Ben Wilson and John Thompson for the 2021-2023 term. Alderperson Allison Sandbeck will be given the oath at a later time. Each member present signed the oath and will return it to the Clerk.

Roll call – Mayor Mischel called roll call with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Gregory Splinter, Nathaniel Slack, Tanja Birke, Ben Wilson, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson and Kristal Welter. Alderperson Allison Sandbeck was absent.

Election of Council President - Motion by Alderperson Birke to nominate Alderperson Cyndy Hubbard for Council President/second by Alderperson Welter. There were no other nominations. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Council Rules – a set of rules was reviewed by Council with no changes. Motion by Alderperson Hubbard/second by Alderperson Thompson to approve the Council rules as written. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of official City newspaper – Motion by Alderperson Welter/second by Alderperson Hubbard to approve the Vernon County Times as the official City newspaper. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Designation of depositories for City funds – Motion by Alderperson Hubbard/second by Alderperson Birke to approve the following depositories for City funds: Royal Bank, Peoples State Bank, Citizens First Bank, Associated Bank, Westby Coop Credit Union – Viroqua Branch and the Local Government Investment Fund. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Mayor's appointments to Council Committees - The Mayor appointed the following committees:
Finance – Tanja Birke-Chair, Cyndy Hubbard, Kristal Welter, Nathaniel Slack, Allison Sandbeck
Public Works – Kristal Welter-Chair, Ben Wilson, Gregory Splinter, Cyndy Hubbard, Tanja Birke
Park & Rec – David Tryggestad – Chair, Ben Wilson, John Thompson, Allison Sandbeck, Nathaniel Slack
Public Property – Allison Sandbeck – Chair, Tanja Birke, David Tryggestad, Gregory Splinter, Ben Wilson
Public Safety – John Thompson – Chair, David Tryggestad, Kristal Welter, Nathaniel Slack, Cyndy Hubbard

Motion by Alderperson Birke/second by Alderperson Welter to approve the committees. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Mayor's appointments to Diversity Board- the Mayor appointed Council members Kristal Welter and Ben Wilson. Motion by Alderperson Birke/second by Alderperson Hubbard to approve Kristal Welter and Ben Wilson to the Diversity Advisory Board for one-year terms. Roll call vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Period for Public Comment – None

Adjournment -

Motion made by Alderperson Tryggestad/second by Alderperson Welter to adjourn the meeting at 6:18 p.m. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by: Lori Polhamus, City Clerk