## CITY OF VIROQUA SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES APRIL 18, 2023

## Roll call:

The special meeting of the Common Council was called to order at City Hall and via zoom at 5:00 p.m. on April 18, 2023 by Mayor Justin Running with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Andrew Bergum, Joseph Ahler, Tanja Birke, Todd Spaeth, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson and Steve Willis present. Alderperson Kristal Welter was excused. Also present were Lori Polhamus, Nate Torres and Todd Kirking.

**Approval of April 11, 2023 Regular Council minutes** – Motion by Alderperson Bergum/second by Alderperson Spaeth to approve the minutes from April 11, 2023. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

## Adjournment sine die

Motion by Alderperson Hubbard/second by Alderperson Thompson to adjourn sine die. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

**Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officers** – Clerk Polhamus administered the Oath of Office to Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Todd Kirking, Todd Spaeth, John Thompson and Steve Willis for the 2023-2025 term. Each member present signed the oath and will return it to the Clerk.

**Roll call** – Mayor Running called roll with Alderpersons David Tryggestad, Andrew Bergum, Todd Kirking, Tanja Birke, Todd Spaeth, Cyndy Hubbard, John Thompson and Steve Willis present. Alderperson Kristal Welter was excused.

**Election of Council President -** Nomination by Alderperson Hubbard to nominate Alderperson Tanja Birke for Council President/second by Alderperson Tryggestad. Nomination by Alderperson Spaeth to nominate John Thompson for Council President/second by Alderperson Kirking. Birke declined the nomination. Motion by Alderperson Birke/second by Alderperson Willis to vote a unanimous ballot for John Thompson for Council president. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carries.

**Council Rules and approval of amendments** – the current set of rules was reviewed by Council. Motion by Alderperson Tryggestad/second by Alderperson Willis to approve the Council rules as presented. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

**Designation of official City newspaper** – Motion by Alderperson Tryggestad/second by Alderperson Willis to approve the Vernon Times as the official City newspaper. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

**Designation of depositories for City funds** – Motion by Alderperson Birke/second by Alderperson Hubbard to approve the following depositories for City funds: Royal Bank, Peoples State Bank, Citizens First Bank, Associated Bank, Westby Coop Credit Union – Viroqua Branch and the Local Government Investment Fund. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Mayor's appointments to Council Committees - The Mayor appointed the following committees: Finance – Kristal Welter-Chair, John Thompson, Tanja Birke, Andrew Bergum, Todd Spaeth Public Works – Cyndy Hubbard-Chair, Tanja Birke, David Tryggestad, Kristal Welter, Todd Kirking Park & Rec – David Tryggestad – Chair, Todd Spaeth, Steve Willis, Andrew Bergum, Cyndy Hubbard Public Property – Tanja Birke – Chair, John Thompson, Cyndy Hubbard, Andrew Bergum, Todd Kirking Public Safety – John Thompson – Chair, David Tryggestad, Kristal Welter, Todd Spaeth, Steve Willis

Motion by Alderperson Birke/second by Alderperson Tryggestad to approve the committees. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

**Second period for public comment** – None

**Adjournment -** Motion made by Alderperson Spaeth/second by Alderperson Willis to adjourn the meeting at 5:14 p.m. Voice vote all in favor. Motion carried.

Minutes respectfully submitted by: Lori Polhamus, City Clerk